



Jan 17, 2020 13:30 GMT

Richard Illingworth wins David Shepherd Trophy for Umpire of the Year

International umpire Richard Illingworth has received global recognition after winning the David Shepherd Trophy for Umpire of the Year as part of the ICC Awards.

The David Shepherd Trophy is awarded annually by the International Cricket Council to the ICC Umpire of the Year. The Trophy is named after the famous and respected English umpire David Shepherd.

The first David Shepherd Trophy was awarded to Simon Taufel in 2004.

Richard follows in the footsteps of three-time winner Richard Kettleborough as the second English umpire to receive the award.

Umpires Martin Saggers, David Millns and Mike Burns have been appointed to the ECB's International Panel for 2020. They join Alex Wharf who has been on the panel for two years.

They replace Rob Bailey and Tim Robinson who have stood down from the International Panel after many years of outstanding service and Michael Gough who was selected for the ICC Elite Panel midway through year. Both Rob and Tim will continue to umpire in county cricket and to support the International Panel.

ECB Umpires' Manager **Chris Kelly** said: "On behalf of the ECB and the entire umpiring community I'd like to congratulate Richard and the three new appointees. Richard has been a world-class umpire for a number of years and this award is more than deserved.

"David, Martin and Mike have made excellent progress in recent years and we are delighted that they can take the next step in their careers. I'd also like to pay tribute to Rob and Tim for their service to the game. The panel and future umpires will benefit from their wisdom and experience."

Richard Illingworth said: "It's an honour and a privilege to be named umpire of the year. To join the prestigious list of previous recipients of the award is very humbling.

"Although umpiring can be seen to be quite individual, there's a huge amount done as a collective. I'd like to thank all my fellow match officials, the ICC and the ECB offices who have been great sounding boards and inspirations over the years. Also, thank you to my coach Denis Burns who helps me a huge amount and puts a great perspective on tough days.

"My family have been a tremendous support over the years and I'm delighted to share this award with them." You'll find all ECB Media Releases and associated resources on our <u>Newsroom</u> > ECB International Media Guide 2019 >

Contacts





Press Contact Director of Communications media@ecb.co.uk

Kate Miller

Jonathan Reed Press Contact Head of Media & Publications media@ecb.co.uk +44 (0) 7525 596 621

Danny Reuben Press Contact Head of Team Communications England Men's team danny.reuben@ecb.co.uk +44 (0)7825 723 620



Matt Somerford Press Contact Communications Manager - Domestic Cricket media@ecb.co.uk +44 (0)7551 134 716



Hen Cowen Press Contact Senior Communications Manager (they/them) hen.cowen@ecb.co.uk +44 (0)7585 987 302





Chris Tuttlebee Press Contact Corporate Communications Lead chris.tuttlebee@ecb.co.uk +44 (0)7824 551713

Emily Liles Press Contact Communications Manager - Performance (England Women) emily.liles@ecb.co.uk

Accreditation Team Press Contact Accreditation accreditation@ecb.co.uk



ECB Press Office Press Contact media@ecb.co.uk