



Jan 19, 2021 15:00 GMT

## England and international stars sign up for The Hundred

- Bairstow, Gordon, Malan and Roy retained
- Overseas stars Du Preez, Kapp, Lee, Nabi, Narine and Tryon confirmed
- The final retained players for the men's competition will be announced on 4 Feb deadline day

A host of star names have put pen to paper to play in The Hundred this year, with over 100 players now confirmed for the new, action-packed 100-ball competition.

Welsh Fire have confirmed the signing of eight players including England internationals Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton and Ben Duckett. They are joined by a host of women's stars with Alex Griffiths, Georgia Hennessy, Lauren Filer, Sophie Luff and Natasha Wraith all confirmed.

The number one IT20 men's batter in the world will play for Trent Rockets, with the Trent Bridge team confirming Dawid Malan will be staying with the side. He will be joined by local faces Matthew Carter, Tom Moores and Steven Mullaney.

Scottish international and ICC Women's Associate Player of the Decade, Kathryn Bryce, and fellow Lightning teammate, Abbey Freeborn, have also been retained by Trent Rockets.

Manchester Originals have confirmed a number of world class players with South African duo Lizelle Lee and Mignon du Preez signing up, alongside the exciting talents of Phil Salt and Joe Clarke.

England white-ball opener and Men's World Cup winner Jason Roy will stay at Oval Invincibles, where he will be joined by two quality overseas bowlers in South African seamer Marizanne Kapp and West Indies spinner Sunil Narine.

London Spirit have also made strides in securing their overseas players with Pakistani quick Mohammad Amir, and a pair of all-rounders in Afghanistan's Mohammad Nabi and South Africa's Chloe Tryon all due to represent the side at Lord's this summer.

England international Kirstie Gordon and talented young Scottish legspinner Abtaha Maqsood will stay at Birmingham Phoenix alongside Tom Helm and Benny Howell, while Southern Brave welcome seamers Lauren Bell and Sonia Odedra, legspinner Max Waller and keeper Alex Davies.

Finally, Northern Superchargers have retained four players with Helen Fenby, Bess Heath, Tom Kohler-Cadmore and Adam Lyth all staying with the Headingley-based side.

The remaining retained men's players will be announced on deadline day on February 4 while the women's squads will continue to be revealed in the coming months.

The Hundred will take place this summer and feature eight city-based teams from Birmingham, Cardiff, Leeds, Manchester, Nottingham, Southampton and two in London. It will be screened live by Sky and the BBC.

**Jonny Bairstow** said: "I'm delighted to be staying at Welsh Fire and I'm really looking forward to representing the team this summer. Ben (Duckett) and Tom (Banton) are both excellent players and we've got the makings of a really strong line-up."

**Lizelle Lee** said: "I've got some fantastic memories of playing in England both internationally and in the Kia Super League and I can't wait to take part in The Hundred later this year for Manchester Originals. It's really exciting to be playing in a new competition and I think it's a great opportunity to continue to grow the women's game."

**Dawid Malan** said: "I was really pleased when Trent Rockets picked me in the men's draft and it was a no-brainer to stay with the side. We've got a really exciting mix of local talent and overseas stars and we'll be aiming to bring the trophy to Trent Bridge."

**Marizanne Kapp** said: "The Kia Oval is a fantastic place to play cricket and I'm really looking forward to playing for Oval Invincibles there. We've got a great group of players and I'm hoping we can go all the way in the competition."

## Full list of signings announced today:

**Birmingham Phoenix:** Emily Arlott, Kirstie Gordon, Tom Helm, Benny Howell, Phoebe Franklin, Abtaha Maqsood

**London Spirit:** Mohammad Amir, Amara Carr, Aylish Cranstone, Jade Dernbach, Danielle Gibson, Mohammad Nabi, Luis Reece, Adam Rossington, Susie Rowe, Chloe Tryon

Manchester Originals: Joe Clarke, Danielle Collins, Mignon du Preez, Alice Dyson, Cordelia Griffith, Hannah Jones, Lizelle Lee, Phil Salt

**Northern Superchargers:** Helen Fenby, Bess Heath, Tom Kohler-Cadmore, Adam Lyth

**Oval Invincibles:** Megan Belt, Alex Blake, Eva Gray, Marizanne Kapp, Sunil Narine, Jason Roy, Rhianna Southby, Nathan Sowter

Southern Brave: Lauren Bell, Alex Davies, Sonia Odedra, Max Waller

**Trent Rockets:** Kathryn Bryce, Matthew Carter, Abbey Freeborn, Dawid Malan, Tom Moores, Steven Mullaney

**Welsh Fire:** Jonny Bairstow, Tom Banton, Ben Duckett, Alex Griffiths, Georgia Hennessy, Lauren Filer, Sophie Luff, Natasha Wraith

You'll find all ECB Media Releases and associated resources on our <u>Newsroom</u> >

## Contacts



**Kate Miller** Press Contact

Director of Communications media@ecb.co.uk





Jonathan Reed Press Contact Head of Media & Publications media@ecb.co.uk +44 (0) 7525 596 621

Danny Reuben Press Contact Head of Team Communications England Men's team danny.reuben@ecb.co.uk +44 (0)7825 723 620





Hen Cowen Press Contact Senior Communications Manager (they/them) hen.cowen@ecb.co.uk +44 (0)7585 987 302

Chris Tuttlebee Press Contact Corporate Communications Lead chris.tuttlebee@ecb.co.uk +44 (0)7824 551713



**Emily Liles** Press Contact Communications Manager - Performance (England Women) emily.liles@ecb.co.uk



**Matt Somerford** 



## **Accreditation Team**

Press Contact Accreditation accreditation@ecb.co.uk



ECB Press Office Press Contact media@ecb.co.uk