



Nov 20, 2019 11:30 GMT

ECB Domestic Cricket Journalism Awards

The ECB and the Cricket Writers' Club are inviting entries for the 2019 Domestic Cricket Journalism Awards.

Awards are open across five categories to recognise and celebrate outstanding contributions towards the coverage of domestic cricket during 2019.

The Young Cricket Journalist of the Year award and the Domestic Cricket Broadcaster of the Year award are named after Christopher Martin-Jenkins – the former BBC Radio Test Match Special commentator and cricket correspondent of The Times and The Daily Telegraph - who died in 2013.

A panel of leading cricket journalists and broadcasters will judge the ECB awards, which are now in their eighth year, and presented in association with the Cricket Writers' Club.

The closing date for entries is Friday, January 17 2020.

<u>Awards</u>

- YOUNG CRICKET JOURNALIST OF THE YEAR

This category is open to any newspaper or online journalist who was under the age of 30 on January 1 2019. Each entrant is required to submit a maximum of three examples of their coverage of county cricket, preferably including evidence of exclusive stories or original material, which must have been published after January 1 2019 and before December 31 2019.

The £2,500 prize fund will be allocated as follows:

The winner of the award will receive £2,000. One runner-up will receive a £500 award.

- REGIONAL NEWSPAPER OF THE YEAR

This category is open to any daily, evening or weekly regional newspaper in England and Wales.

Entrants are required to submit examples of their newspaper's coverage of domestic cricket – county, recreational or Kia Super League - a maximum of five articles and all must have been published after January 1 2019 and before December 31 2019.

Entrants are also required to supply a short statement of no more than 200 words explaining how the publication improved its coverage of domestic cricket in 2019. The panel will factor in the resources available to all shortlisted titles before making its final decision.

There is a prize fund of £2,500.

Awards from the prize fund will be made to assist regional newspapers in supplementing existing county coverage provided by staff reporters.

- DOMESTIC CRICKET BROADCASTER OF THE YEAR

There is no age restriction for this award. Each entrant is required to submit an example of live commentary from a county fixture staged in 2018. This should be between 15 and 20 minutes in length and uninterrupted but may also feature contributions from a co-summariser.

The £2,500 prize fund will be allocated as follows:

The winner of the award will receive £2,000. One runner-up will receive a £500 award.

- OUTSTANDING NEWSPAPER COVERAGE OF DOMESTIC CRICKET

Entrants can submit up to three examples of coverage of domestic cricket – news stories, interviews, match coverage, etc – or a more general submission outlining the quantity and quality of coverage.

- OUTSTANDING ONLINE COVERAGE OF DOMESTIC CRICKET

Entrants can submit specific examples of domestic coverage (up to three), or a more general submission.

There is be a prize fund of £1,000.

Please note: The closing date for entries is Friday January 17, 2020.

Entries can be sent:

Via post with photocopies of articles to the below address or via email with PDFs of articles to philippa.plevey@ecb.co.uk – or c/o Philippa Plevey, ECB, Lord's Cricket Ground, Lord's Cricket Ground, Lord's Cricket Ground, Lord's Cricket Ground, <a href="mailto:Lord's Lord's Lo

For the County Broadcaster Award, please email MP3 files to

You'll find all ECB Media Releases and associated resources on our Newsroom > ECB International Media Guide 2019 >

PRINCIPAL PARTNER

BROADCAST PARTNERS

COMPETITION SPONSORS

Sky sports cricket

NatWest

ECB CORPORATE PARTNERS

BBGSPORT

Contacts



Matt Somerford
Press Contact
Communications Manager - Domestic Cricket
media@ecb.co.uk
+44 (0)7551 134 716