



Jan 04, 2019 12:20 GMT

ECB Domestic Cricket Journalism Awards

ECB and the Cricket Writers' Club are inviting entries for the Domestic Cricket Journalism Awards 2018.

The awards, now in their seventh year, are designed to recognise and celebrate outstanding contributions towards the coverage of domestic cricket across 2018.

They are made in association with the Cricket Writers' Club and judged by a panel of leading cricket journalists and broadcasters.

The Young Cricket Journalist of the Year award and the Domestic Cricket Broadcaster of the Year award are named after Christopher Martin-Jenkins – the former BBC Radio Test Match Special commentator and cricket correspondent of The Times and The Daily Telegraph - who died in 2013.

Awards

- YOUNG CRICKET JOURNALIST OF THE YEAR

This category is open to any newspaper or online journalist who was under the age of 30 on January 1 2018. Each entrant is required to submit a maximum of three examples of their coverage of domestic cricket (county or Kia Super League), preferably including evidence of exclusive stories or original material, which must have been published after January 1 2018 and before December 31 2018.

The £5,000 prize fund will be allocated as follows:

The winner of the award will receive £3,000. The two runners-up will each receive a £1,000 award.

- REGIONAL NEWSPAPER OF THE YEAR

This category is open to any daily, evening or weekly regional newspaper in England and Wales.

Entrants are required to submit examples of their newspaper's coverage of domestic cricket – county, recreational or Kia Super League - a maximum of five articles and all must have been published after January 1 2018 and before December 31 2018.

Entrants are also required to supply a short statement of no more than 200 words explaining how the publication improved its coverage of domestic cricket in 2018. The panel will factor in the resources available to all shortlisted titles before making its final decision.

There will be a prize fund of £2,500.

Awards from the prize fund will be made to assist regional newspapers in supplementing existing county coverage provided by staff reporters.

- DOMESTIC CRICKET BROADCASTER OF THE YEAR

There is no age restriction for this award. Each entrant is required to submit an example of live commentary from a county fixture staged in 2018. This should be between 15 and 20 minutes in length and uninterrupted but may also feature contributions from a co-summariser.

The winner of this prize will continue to receive a £5,000 award in recognition of their outstanding coverage of domestic cricket.

- OUTSTANDING NEWSPAPER COVERAGE OF DOMESTIC CRICKET

Entrants can submit up to three examples of coverage of domestic cricket – news stories, interviews, match coverage, etc – or a more general submission outlining the quantity and quality of coverage.

- OUTSTANDING ONLINE COVERAGE OF DOMESTIC CRICKET

Entrants can submit specific examples of domestic coverage (up to three), or a more general submission. Also as with the Newspaper category, the winner receives a trophy, but not a financial reward.

Please note: The closing date for entries is Monday February 11.

Entries can be sent:

 Via post with photocopies of articles to the below address or via email with PDFs of articles to philippa.plevey@ecb.co.uk – or
 c/o Philippa Plevey, ECB, Lord's Cricket Ground, London NW8 80Z • For the County Broadcaster Award, please email MP3 files to philippa.plevey@ecb.co.ukor send a CD to the below address c/o Philippa Plevey, ECB, Lord's Cricket Ground, London NW8 80Z

You'll find all ECB Media Releases and associated resources on our Newsroom

Contacts



Hen Cowen
Press Contact
Senior Communications Manager (they/them)
hen.cowen@ecb.co.uk
+44 (0)7585 987 302