



Jan 25, 2019 14:15 GMT

ECB appoints three new officials including James Whitaker as Cricket Liaison Officer

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) today announced James Whitaker has joined its nine-strong team of Cricket Liaison Officers for the forthcoming domestic season.

James will bring extensive knowledge of the first-class game to his new role. As well as enjoying a successful playing career with Leicestershire and being part of England's Ashes winning squad in 1986-87, he served as an England Selector for ten years, including four and a half years as a National Selector –

a period which encompassed four Ashes series wins, Test series wins in India and South Africa, and victory in the ICC World T20 tournament in 2010.

The position of CLO has continued to develop since its inception in 2015. As well as supporting groundsmen and providing feedback on umpire performances, CLOs now hold greater decision-making responsibility in the areas of discipline, the fixed-penalty system, the rating and investigation of pitches and the concussion replacements process.

James's appointment brings ECB's panel of highly experienced CLOs to nine for the 2019 season. Overseen by ECB's Cricket Operations Manager Andy Smith, the full list of CLOs is:-

Tim Boon; Dean Cosker; Richard Ellison; Wayne Noon; Steve Davis; Graham Cowdrey; Stuart Cummings, Phil Whitticase and James Whitaker.

Commenting on his new role, **James Whitaker** said:

"I'm really looking forward to taking up this new position and to working closely with the umpires to provide a high level of integrity within the first-class game.

"As a former player and manager at Leicestershire, I'm passionate about the county game which forms the foundation of cricket in England and Wales. It's a privilege to join the existing panel of CLOs – all of whom have a deep knowledge of the game. Together we can provide support and coverage across matches in the Specsavers County Championship, Vitality Blast and the Royal London One-Day Cup."

James will officially start his new role in March.

This appointment also coincides with two new additions to the Reserve List of First-Class Umpires for the 2019 season: the former Derbyshire batsman, Hassan Adnan; and Neil Pratt, the former MCC Young Cricketer.

Contacts



Kate Miller Press Contact **Director of Communications** media@ecb.co.uk



Jonathan Reed Press Contact Head of Media & Publications media@ecb.co.uk +44 (0) 7525 596 621



Danny Reuben Press Contact Head of Team Communications England Men's team danny.reuben@ecb.co.uk +44 (0)7825 723 620



Matt Somerford Press Contact Communications Manager - Domestic Cricket media@ecb.co.uk +44 (0)7551 134 716



Hen Cowen Press Contact Senior Communications Manager (they/them) hen.cowen@ecb.co.uk +44 (0)7585 987 302



Chris Tuttlebee
Press Contact
Corporate Communications Lead
chris.tuttlebee@ecb.co.uk
+44 (0)7824 551713



Emily Liles
Press Contact
Communications Manager - Performance (England Women)
emily.liles@ecb.co.uk



Accreditation Team Press Contact Accreditation accreditation@ecb.co.uk

ECB Press Office
Press Contact
media@ecb.co.uk