



Sep 06, 2023 16:30 BST

Crawley to captain England Men in Ireland series

Zak Crawley has been named as captain of a 13-player squad for England Men's Metro Bank One-Day International Series against Ireland Men this month.

Crawley will lead England for the first time with his Test opening partner Ben Duckett named as vice-captain for the three-match series, which begins at Headingly on Wednesday, 20 September.

The squad includes three uncapped players, Warwickshire batter Sam Hain,

Surrey wicketkeeper-batter Jamie Smith and Derbyshire paceman George Scrimshaw.

The England Men's selection panel consulted with the first-class counties, and weighed their ambitions in the run-in to the end of the LV= Insurance County Championship season, before finalising the squad.

England Men's 13-player squad:

```
Zak Crawley (Kent – Captain)
Rehan Ahmed (Leicestershire)
Harry Brook (Yorkshire)
Brydon Carse (Durham)
Ben Duckett (Nottinghamshire - Vice Captain)
Sam Hain (Warwickshire)
Will Jacks (Surrey)
Craig Overton (Somerset)
Matthew Potts (Durham)
Phil Salt (Lancashire)
George Scrimshaw (Derbyshire)
Jamie Smith (Surrey)
Luke Wood (Lancashire)
```

ends

England Men v Ireland - Metro Bank One-Day Series schedule

1st Metro Bank ODI: Headingley, Leeds – 20 September 2nd Metro Bank ODI: Trent Bridge, Nottingham – 23 September 3rd Metro Bank ODI: Seat Unique Stadium, Bristol - 26 September

You'll find all ECB Media Releases and associated resources on our Newsroom >

Contacts



Matt Somerford
Press Contact
Communications Manager - Domestic Cricket
media@ecb.co.uk
+44 (0)7551 134 716